This morning’s breakfast, to heaven with guava::koeajwel::guayaba and passion fruit::grenadilla::maracuya that scented the office kitchen; yogurt and granola ūüôā

The availability and diversity of produce in SA is admirable, especially considering most is locally grown (not imported). ¬†Farmer struggles are a reality…will speak of ET’s untimely demise at a later date (and farmer suicides on the other side of the coin), but damn production is incredible. ¬†Though not everything looks the same (different strains of greens most apparent), and things aren’t as overinflated/genetically modified as in the PathMarks/Rouse’s/Safeways/Publix some know, they’re all readily available and locally grown – which is my preference. ¬†Though ultimately my preference is for things that taste good, and these deliver. ¬†I appreciate the joy and discipline of cooking and eating seasonally – this was my first guava of the year, and I smelled their availability down the street.

I have a weekly ritual in Yeoville.  The market. Saves time, money and sanity.

For less than R50 ($6.88 at today’s exchange rate), I get everything for the week. ¬†Fruits from Robert, my favorite Ghanaian vendor…referred courtesy of Tangai. ¬†Veg from him and my other favorite Mma and her son deeper in the market. ¬†I buy black-eyed peas, cassava flour and other staples of my African diet that are overpriced/unavailable in chain stores and underutilized by standard South African palates.

BLISS!

